Total Art Soul - for artists

" Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up. "
Pablo Picasso
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Go to bottomPage: 12
TOPIC: Back to Clay
Back to Clay 8 Years, 8 Months ago  
My background is production pottery, souvenir items for over 20 years. I hated it, being a production machine, from the get go but always appreciated what clay could do. I did not touch clay for a long time after ending my business but last year bought a few bags of clay and have been sculpting with it. Clay does not have to be used to make a mug or plate always... smile.
Pottery is a tough one to market though. I have met a zillion potters while doing craft shows. One thing that made my business successful it that I recognized that like it or not, CUTE SELLS as does anything that you can PERSONALIZE. Just a hint to those that might be trying to make it with pottery.
KathysArt
KathysArt
www.kathyostman-magnusen.com
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Back to Clay 8 Years, 8 Months ago  
Good advice kathy. We've had this conversation before, cute sure does sell. It seems more so than ever.
Cathy
Cathy
www.cathysavels.com
graph
Gender: Female Cathy Savels - Artist Location: France Birthday: 09/27
Mixed Media Artist
www.cathysavels.com
Co-Creator of Total Art Soul

Re:Back to Clay 8 Years, 3 Months ago  
From talking to buyers I think their biggest concern is actually getting whatever it is they've ordered to arrive in one piece. I tend to think thats whats so difficult about it to sell, being able to reassure buyers is a huge part of selling ceramics.

Usually though I've found when people have tried it they do come back for more.
littlewrenpottery
littlewrenpottery
www.littlewrenpottery.co.uk
graphgraph

Yes, that must be a huge problem for you ceramics artists. You must be experts at packing!
Cathy
Cathy